Saturday, April 19, 2008

Dropbox Process (On/Off)

A good thing with DropBox is that it can be turned off. If I share feeds from NewsFox and don't want the updates to constantly propagate to the site, I can turn off DropBox and restart it later when I'm done with feed reading. At that point it should synchronize all the changes in one set. This should be visible in Revisions as one update.
DropBox is running as a user process, not a service. So it's easy to turn off and on. This is neither good nor bad thing, just something to have in mind. If the machine crashes or someone turns it off, it will not automatically sync.
But, that's alright, as the files are available on the site. Bringing the computer into operational state should refresh the files and everything should be alright.

No comments: